Humanized Mice Symposium


Monday, November 5, 2012, 8:30am to 5:30pm


Joseph B. Martin Conference Center Harvard Medical School Rotunda Room, Boston, MA

"Recent Advances in Humanized Mice:
Accelerating the Development of an HIV Vaccine"


This event is co-sponsored by the Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT, and Harvard; the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health (NIAID/NIH); and the Harvard University Center for AIDS Research (HU CFAR)

Recent advancements in the development of more robust humanized mouse models hold great promise to further our understanding of host immunity to a range of human pathogens. In the case of HIV, emerging studies reveal the ability of humanized mice to mount HIV-specific cellular and humoral immune responses that accurately recapitulate those of HIV-infected subjects, as well as model the early events following HIV infection. These and other fundamental advancements in the ability of humanized mice to replicate critical viral-host interactions to a number of human pathogens provide a unique opportunity to advance HIV vaccine development. 

This symposium will bring together a renowned panel of speakers to discuss their recent work to study HIV infection in humanized mice, including the nature of HIV-specific cellular, humoral and innate immune responses, viral dissemination and establishment of viral reservoirs, novel therapeutic approaches to contain or eradicate HIV, the efficacy of vaccine regimens, as well as applications to other human pathogens. The goal of symposium will be 
to evaluate the potential for this small animal model to address key questions regarding the induction of protective immunity to HIV and accelerate the development of an effective HIV vaccine.

Confirmed Speakers:

Todd Allen (Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard)
Alex Balazs (California Institute of Technology)
Michael Brehm (University of Massachusetts)
Paula Cannon (University of Southern California)
Judy Chang (Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard)
Joachim Hauber (University of Hamburg)
Andrew Luster (Harvard Medical School)
Thorsten Mempel (Harvard Medical School)
Brian Moldt (The Scripps Research Institute)
Lishan Su (University of North Carolina)
Megan Sykes (Columbia University)
Andrew Tager (Harvard Medical School)
Uli von Andrian (Harvard Medical School)
Jerome Zack (University of California, Los Angeles)

See also: Symposia